conducted by the Tennessee PGA

HISTORY: The Tennessee Senior PGA Professional Championship goes back to 1967 when the Tennessee chapter of the Southeastern PGA played a State PGA tournament. The first senior champion was Peck Leslie of Bluegrass Yacht and Country Club, Hendersonville. Beginning in 1999, the TPGA began using a separate site for its Senior Championship and changed the tournament to a 36-hole format. Section professionals, age 50 and older, are eligible for the competition. 



Nashville’s Bill Breen won his first Tennessee PGA Senior Professional Championship. He shot 69-64—133 (-11) to win by seven strokes over Tullahoma’s Jared Melson.

Bill Breen, Nashville69-64—133 (-11)$750
Jared Melson, Tullahoma71-69—140650
Walt Chapman, Knoxville73-69—142500
Audie Johnson, Mt. Juliet70-73—143450
Jake Reeves, Knoxville72-72—144375
Henrik Simonsen, Ooltewah71-73—144375
Buddy Harston, Kingston Springs71-75—146300
Glenn Hudson, LaFollette70-79—149250
Loren Personett, Mt. Juliet73-77—150125
Richard Rebne, Ringgold, GA76-74—150125
Rob Riddle, Lookout Mountain76-74—150125
2020Bill BreenNashville G&AC
2019Walt ChapmanBrentwood
2018Walt ChapmanCouncil Fire
2017Walt ChapmanFoxland Harbor 
2016Walt ChapmanThe Virginian
2015Richard RebneBrentwood
2014Richard RebneOld Natchez
2013Richard RebneCouncil Fire
2012Mark HouserThe Virginian
2011Buddy HarstonRiverbend
2010Buddy HarstonBear Trace at Harrison Bay
2009Mark HouserStones River
2008Buddy HarstonThe Governors Club
2007Buddy HarstonOld Hickory
2006Mark HouserNashville G&AC
2005Mark HouserBluegrass
2004Gene DixonThe Governors Club
2003Bobby BrayThe Governors Club
2002Jerry HintonThe Governors Club
2001Gary MetzgerThe Governors Club
2000James PaschalThe Governors Club
1999Bobby BrayThe Governors Club
1998Richard EllerCouncil Fire
1997George NewbeckStones River
1996Ralph DeRoyWindyke (East)
1995Bill RobinsonRidgefields
1994Bobby GreenwoodThe Country Club (Morristown)
1993Gary Head*Springhouse 
1992Gary HeadCleveland 
1991Bobby Greenwood**Farmington 
1990Gary ToulsonBristol
1989Gary ToulsonNashboro Village
1988Gene DixonThe Country Club (Morristown)
1987Jim RigginsHermitage (General’s Retreat)
1986Jimmy RagerBluegrass
1985Duke EllingtonRidgeway
1984Vernon ThwaitesCleveland
1983No Championship
1982Duke EllingtonRidgefields
1981Willie WilsonHolston Hills
1980No Championship
1979Jack BrunChattanooga
1978No Championship
1977Harold EllerBristol
1976Lloyd ForeeFox Den
1975No Championship
1974Pat AbbottFall Creek Falls
1973Lloyd ForeeFall Creek Falls
1972Vernon ThwaitesRidgefields
1971Pat Abbott*Farmington
1970John KingOak Ridge

Mark Houser (4)2005, 06, 09, 12
Buddy Harston (4)2007, 08, 10, 11
Walt Chapman (4)2016, 17, 18, 19
Pat Abbott (3)1969, 71, 74
Richard Rebne (3)2013, 14, 15
Harold Eller (2)1968, 77
Vernon Thwaites (2)1972, 84
Lloyd Foree (2)1973, 76
Duke Ellington (2)1982, 85
Gene Dixon (2)1988, 04
Gary Toulson (2)1989, 90
Bobby Greenwood (2)1991, 94
Gary Head (2)1992, 93
Bobby Bray (2)1999, 03


Most championships: 4, Buddy Harston, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011; Mark Houser, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2012; Walt Chapman, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019.

Most consecutive championships: 4, Walt Chapman, 2016-2019.

Most runner-up finishes: 4, Lloyd Foree, 1967, 1972, 1979, 1981.

Lowest score, 36 holes: 129, Walt Chapman, 2016, The Virginian. 

Lowest score, 36 holes, based on par: 129 (-15), Walt Chapman, 2016, The Virginian.

Lowest score, 54 holes: 212, Peck Leslie, 1967, Tansi Resort.

Lowest score, 54 holes, based on par: 214 (-2), Richard Eller, 1998, Council Fire.

Lowest 18-hole score: 63, Walt Chapman, 2016, 2nd round, The Virginian; Bill Breen, 2020, 2nd round, Nashville G∾ 65, Audie Johnson, 2016, 2nd round, The Virginian.

Lowest 18-hole score, based on par: 63 (-9), Walt Chapman, 2016, 2nd round, The Virginian; 65 (-7), Audie Johnson, 2016, 2nd round, The Virginian.

Lowest first-round score: 66, Sam Adams, 2000, The Governors Club; Walt Chapman, 2016, The Virginian; Buddy Harston, 2016, The Virginian.

Lowest final-round score: 63, Walt Chapman, 2016, The Virginian.

Lowest 18-hole final round score by a winner: 63, Walt Chapman, 2016, The Virginian.

Largest winning margin in 36-hole tournament: 7 strokes, Bobby Bray, 1999, The  Governors Club; Mark Houser, 2005, Bluegrass; Walt Chapman, 2016, The Virginian; Bill Breen, 2020, Nashville G&AC.

Largest winning margin in 54-hole tournament: 18 strokes, Duke Ellington, 1982, Ridgefields. 

Longest span, first to last victory: 12 years, Vernon Thwaites, 1972-1984.

Longest span between victories: 12 years, Vernon Thwaites, 1972-1984.

Most times host club of championship: 7, The Governors Club, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2008.

*-now Tennessee Grasslands (Links)

*-now Gaylord Springs Golf Club

**-now Germantown Country Cl


written and edited by Gene Pearce
copyright © Tennessee Golf Foundation