conducted by the Tennessee PGA

HISTORY:  The Tennessee Assistant PGA Professional Championship, originally called the Apprentice Championship, goes back to 1971 when Greg Powers won his first of two titles. Loren Personett and Matt Brock have each won the event four times. Ray Pearce, grandson of Harold Eller, of whom the tournament trophy is named, is the only player to win three tournaments in a row (1988-1990). 



Lee Whitehead, assistant at Fox Den Country Club, posted a 72-69—141 (-3) score to win the Tennessee PGA Assistant Professional Championship by a stroke at Chickasaw Country Club in Memphis. Whitehead made seven birdies on the final day to claim his first Tennessee PGA Section victory. Whitehead finished 2nd in 2018 and 3rd in 2019 in this tournament. Whitehead, Bobby O’Brien (142) and Ryan Botts (147) earned a trip to the National PGA Assistant Professional Tournament.

Lee Whitehead, Louisville72-69—141 (-3)
Bobby O’Brien, Olive Branch, MS70-72—142
Ryan Botts, Mt. Juliet77-70—147
Michael Hutcherson, Jackson70-77—147
Chad Walker, Franklin75-73—148
Allen Fennell, Kingsport76-72—148
Dylan Jensen, Nashville77-72—149
Marshall Talkington, Jackson77-73—150
Chase Harris, Jackson78-73—151


2020Lee WhiteheadChickasaw
2019Ryan BottsOld Hickory
2018Casey FlennikenNashville G&AC
2017Casey FlennikenBrentwood
2016Kevin SnellThe Governors Club
2015Brian Wood Bear Trace at Harrison Bay
2014Audie JohnsonTemple Hills
2013Kevin SnellHolston Hills
2012Johan KokOld Hickory
2011Matt BrockBrentwood
2010Kevin BoyleMemphis
2009Matt BrockFox Den
2008Matt BrockBear Trace at Harrison Bay
2007Allen FennellBrentwood
2006Matt BrockNashville G&AC
2005James Van De GriffBear Trace at Harrison Bay
2004Paul BrannonSpringhouse 
2003Loren PersonettHermitage (President’s Reserve)
2002Greg WyattBluegrass
2001Erik LundbladStonehenge
2000Kelvin BurginToqua
1999Loren PersonettSaddle Creek
1998Kelvin BurginOak Ridge
1997Loren PersonettTemple Hills
1996Rob HessingBig Creek
1995Keith KailBristol
1994Loren PersonettCouncil Fire
1993Joe MeadeHolston Hills
1992Joe MeadeGolf Club of Tennessee
1991Van MontgomeryChickasaw
1990Ray PearceHermitage (General’s Retreat)
1989Ray PearceWillow Creek
1988Ray PearceHeatherhurst/Stonehenge
1987Charlie LongMemphis
1986Art WhaleyFox Den
1985Art WhaleyStonehenge
1984Kip HenleySignal Mountain
1983Reed HughesMemphis
1982Tony MitchellTemple Hills
1981Tony MitchellHillwood
1980Buzz FlyTemple Hills
1979Buzz FlyBella Vista
1978*Mike EllerFox Den
 *Mike Nelms 
1977George LinerOld Hickory
1976Tony FarmerJackson
1975No Championship 
1974Greg PowersNashville G&AC
1973James PaschalMemphis
1972Bob WolfeRidgefields
1971Greg PowersFarmington 

Loren Personett (4)1994, 1997, 1999, 2003
Matt Brock (4)2006, 2008, 2009, 2011
Ray Pearce (3)1988, 1989, 1990
Greg Powers (2)1971, 1974
Buzz Fly (2)1979, 1980
Tony Mitchell (2)1981, 1982
Art Whaley (2)1985, 1986
Joe Meade (2)1992, 1993
Kelvin Burgin (2)1998, 2000
Kevin Snell (2)2013, 2016
Casey Flenniken (2)2017, 2018 

Most championships: 4, Loren Personett, 1994, 1997, 1999, 2003; Matt Brock, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2011.
Most consecutive championships: 3, Ray Pearce, 1988, 1989, 1990.
Most runner-up finishes: Art Whaley, 1989, 1990, 1995. 
Lowest score, 54 holes: 221, Ray Clark, 1970, Oak Ridge.
Lowest score, 54 holes, based on par: 221 (+5), Ray Clark, 1970, Oak Ridge.
Lowest score, 36 holes: 133, Ryan Botts, 2019, Old Hickory.
Lowest score, 36 holes, based on par: 133 (-9), Ryan Botts, 2019, Old Hickory.
Lowest score, 18 holes: 63, Casey Flenniken, 2017, 1st round, Brentwood; 63, Casey Flenniken, 2019, 2nd round, Old Hickory.
Lowest score, 18 holes, based on par: 63 (-9), 2019, Casey Flenniken, Old Hickory.
63 (-8), Casey Flenniken, 2017, 1st round, Brentwood; 65 (-6), Casey Flenniken, 2012, 2nd round, Old Hickory; 65 (-6), Kevin Snell, 2012, 2nd round, Old Hickory.
Lowest 18-hole final round by winner: 66, Kevin Boyle, 2010, Memphis; 66, Brian Wood, 2015, Bear Trace at Harrison Bay.
Largest winning margin 54-hole tournament: 4 strokes, Bob Wolfe, 1972, Ridgefields. 
Largest winning margin 36-hole tournament: 7 strokes, Greg Powers, 1974, Nashville G&AC.
Most times host club to championship: 4, Memphis, 1973, 1983, 1987, 2010.
*-now Gaylord Springs Golf Club 
**-now Germantown Country Club


written and edited by Gene Pearce
copyright © Tennessee Golf Foundation