conducted by the Tennessee Golf Association

HISTORY: The first TGA State Open was played in 1949. Pat Abbott of Memphis won with a score of 211 at Belle Meade Country Club in Nashville. Abbott and Gibby Gilbert Jr., each won the TGA State Open four times, but Mason Rudolph is the leader with a total of six. 


2020 RESULTS: The 73rd playing of the TGA State Open at GreyStone Golf Club in Dickson was cancelled because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

2020No Tournament 
2019Hunter GreenGreyStone
2018Joey SavoieThe Grove
2017Jonathan HodgeTennessee Grasslands (Links)
2016Jason MillardTennessee Grasslands (Lakes)
2015Garrett WillisTennessee Grasslands (Lakes)
2014Steven FoxBelle Meade
2013Garrett WillisGaylord Springs
2012a-Craig SmithGaylord Springs
2011Jonathan FlyBrentwood
2010Grant LeaverGreyStone
2009Bryce LedfordGaylord Springs
2008a-Cody HaleGaylord Springs
2007a-Derek RendeGaylord Springs
2006a-Justin MetzgerGolf Club of Tennessee
2005Andrew PrattNashville Golf & Athletic Club
2004a-Andrew PrattNashville Golf & Athletic Club
2003a-Rob LongGreyStone
2002a-Tim JacksonGreyStone
2001a-Trey LewisGreyStone
2000Garrett WillisGreyStone
1999Loren RobertsGreyStone
1998a-Richard SmithStonehenge
1997Kip HenleyRichland
1996Walt ChapmanLegends Club of Tennessee (North)
1995Jared MelsonLegends Club of Tennessee (North)
1994a-Chuck JabaleyLegends Club of Tennessee (North/South)
1993Jimmy EllisLegends Club of Tennessee (North/South)
1992Bobby NicholsStonehenge/Dorchester
1991Steve MunsonStonehenge/Dorchester
1990Gibby Gilbert Jr.Stonehenge/Dorchester
1989Gibby Gilbert Jr.Stonehenge/Dorchester
1988Gibby Gilbert Jr.Stonehenge/Dorchester
1987a-Rob LongStonehenge/Dorchester
1986Gibby Gilbert Jr.Stonehenge/Dorchester
1985Mike NelmsStonehenge/Dorchester
1984Gary RobinsonBelle Meade
1983a-Bob WolcottValleybrook
1982a-Kip HenleyValleybrook
1981Mike NelmsRichland
1980a-Bill ArgabriteTemple Hills
1979James PaschalTemple Hills
1978a-Sam YoungTemple Hills
1977Richard EllerBluegrass
1976Larry WhiteCreeks Bend
1975Greg PowersOld Hickory
1974Bobby BrayStones River
1973Joe CampbellWindyke (West)
1972Mason RudolphBluegrass
1971Richard EllerHillwood
1970Larry GilbertJackson
1969a-Harold LaneRivermont
1968a-Bobby GreenwoodOld Hickory
1967a-John DealBluegrass
1966Mason RudolphHillwood
1965Joe CampbellRichland
1964Mason RudolphBelle Meade
1963Mason RudolphHillwood
1962Pat AbbottRichland
1961J.C. GoosieChickasaw
1960J.C. GoosieHolston Hills
1959Mason RudolphMemphis
1958Joe CampbellHolston Hills
1957a-Curtis Person Sr.Jackson
1956a-Mason RudolphChattanooga
1955Pat AbbottChickasaw
1954Pat AbbottBelle Meade
1953a-Curtis Person Sr.Richland
1952a-Albert Stone Jr.Jackson
1951a-Ira TempletonSignal Mountain
1950Johnny MorrisHolston Hills
1949Pat AbbottMemphis

Mason Rudolph (6)1956, 1959, 1963, 1964, 1966, 1972
Pat Abbott (4)1949, 1954, 1955, 1962
Gibby Gilbert Jr. (4)1986, 1988, 1989, 1990
Joe Campbell (3)1958, 1965, 1973
Garrett Willis (3)2000, 2013, 2015
Curtis Person Sr. (2)1953, 1957
J.C. Goosie (2)1960, 1961
Richard Eller (2)1971, 1977
Mike Nelms (2)1981, 1985
Kip Henley (2)1982, 1997
Rob Long (2)1987, 2003
Andrew Pratt (2)2004, 2005

Most championships:
6, Mason Rudolph, 1956, 1959, 1963, 1964, 1966, 1972. 
Most consecutive championships:
3, Gibby Gilbert Jr., 1988, 1989, 1990.
Most runner-up finishes:
5, Bob Wolcott, 1979, 1982, 1984, 1985, 2003. 
Lowest score, 54 holes:
197, Jonathan Fly, 2011, Brentwood.
Lowest score, 18 holes, based on par:
62 (-10), Garrett Willis, 2nd round, 2015, Tennessee Grasslands (Lakes); Jason Millard, 1st round, 2016, Tennessee Grasslands (Lakes).
Lowest score, 9 holes:
28, Jason Millard, 1st round (front), 2016, Tennessee Grasslands (Lakes); 29, Dawson Armstrong, 2nd round (front), 2016, Tennessee Grasslands (Lakes); Clayton Gregory, 2nd round (front), 2017, Tennessee Grasslands (Links).
Lowest score, 9 holes, based on par:
28 (-8), Jason Millard, 2016, 1st round (front), 2016, Tennessee Grasslands (Lakes); 29 (-7), Dawson Armstrong, 2016, 2nd round (front), 2016, Tennessee Grasslands (Lakes); Clayton Gregory, 2017, 2nd round (front), 2017, Tennessee Grasslands (Links).
Lowest 18-hole final round by winner:
64, Hunter Green, 2019, GreyStone.
Lowest score, first 18 holes:
62, Jason Millard, 2016, Tennessee Grasslands (Lakes).
Lowest score, first 36 holes:
130, Jonathan Fly, 2011, Brentwood.
Lowest score, first 36 holes, based on par:
131 (-13), Jason Millard, 2016, Tennessee Grasslands (Lakes).
Lowest score, last 36 holes:
131, Jonathan Fly, 2011, Brentwood; Dawson Armstrong, 2016, Tennessee Grasslands (Lakes).
Largest winning margin:
11, Joe Campbell, 1965, Richland.
Longest span, first to last championship:
16 years, Mason Rudolph, 1956-1972.
Longest span between championships:
15 years, Kip Henley, 1982-1997. 
First left-handed player to win:
Sam Young, 1978, Temple Hills.
Youngest player to win:
Derek Rende (20 years, 2 months, 14 days), 2007, Gaylord Springs; Justin Metzger (20 years, 11 months, 28 days), 2006, Golf Club of Tennessee.
Oldest player to win:
Pat Abbott (50 years, 3 months, 25 days), 1962, Richland; Gibby Gilbert Jr. (49 years, 4 months, 4 days), 1990, Stonehenge/Dorchester.
Most times host club of championship:
9, Stonehenge, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1998.
Largest entry:
445, 2000, GreyStone.


written and edited by Gene Pearce
copyright © Tennessee Golf Foundation