BURNS, Tenn. – The match play brackets are set for the 2018 Tennessee Senior and Super Senior Four-Ball Championships at Montgomery Bell Golf Course.


A second round of stroke play qualifying was held Wednesday to determine which teams will square off for the titles.


For the Senior Division, the top eight teams advanced to make up the match play bracket.  Quarterfinal and semifinal matches will be held Thursday, with the championship match set for Friday morning.


Two teams tied for stroke play medalist honors.  Buzz Fly and Kirk Bailey followed up their opening-round 65 with an 8-under, 63 to come in at 14-under.


Day-one leaders Craig McElhaney and John Thomas also shot 14-under after going 63-65.


Fly and Bailey received the top seed for the bracket and will face No. 8 James Fender and Eddie Bailey (69-62–131).


The winner of that match will advance to Thursday afternoon to meet the winner of the match between No. 4 Mike Poe and Bob Rice (65-65–130) and No. 5 Mike Gallagher and Butch Okelley (65-65–130).


On the other side of the bracket, McElhaney and Thomas will meet No. 7 David Apperson and David Salyers (68-63–131).


The winner of that match will square off against the winner of No. 3 Jerry Matthews and David Reynolds (65-65–130) and No. 6 Bjorn Svedin and Dan Schorsten (65-66–131).


The low round of the day in the Senior Division was the 10-under, 61 fired by Tom Paulsen and Grant Barron.  However, it wasn’t enough to move them along after their opening-round 71 on Tuesday.


Also falling one stroke short of advancing were defending tournament champions Danny Green and Steve Golliher, who had won four of the last five Tennessee Senior Four-Ball titles.


The top four teams in the Super Senior Division advanced to form a match play bracket, and two teams tied for medalist honors after the two rounds of stroke play.


Defending tournament champions Neil Spitalny and John Williams went 67-66–133.  Also coming in at 9-under were Bob Waldschmidt and Jim Webb (69-64–133).


Spitalny and Williams will meet No. 4 Mike Nixon and Mike Patton (68-67–135) on Thursday, while Waldschmidt and Webb will face No. 3 Frank Dial and Ed Link (66-68–134).


The winners of the two matches will play for the title Friday morning.


Follow the Tennessee Golf Association on Twitter at @tngolf for updates throughout the tournament.



Copyright 2011-2014 Tennessee Golf Association, All rights reserved.