Junior Home Enter Online 2018 Entry Form and Description 2017 Championship Pairings & Results 2018 Qualifying Past Champions, Records & Results Championship Partners

MURFREESBORO – Bryce Lewis started his round hot on Tuesday, while A. Jacks Green finished his in much the same fashion.


At the end of the day, the two found themselves tied atop the leaderboard after the opening round of the 55th annual Tennessee Boys’ Junior Amateur Championship, being held this week at Stones River Country Club.


The tournament will continue with 18 more holes of stroke play on Wednesday before the final round is held on Thursday.


Lewis, a recent Hendersonville High School graduate and soon-to-be Middle Tennessee State University golfer, birdied three of his first four holes and made the turn at 4-under, 31. 


He then proceeded to birdie No. 10 to get to 5-under, but he bogeyed two holes coming in to finish with a 3-under, 68.


“I started really good,” Lewis said.  “I kind of just let up on my irons, honestly.  I wasn’t staying as aggressive.  I missed a four-footer on 17 for par.  That was rough.”


“I’ve got a good score for the first round.  Overall, it was a good start.”


Green, who started his round on No. 10, was even par through 10 holes before playing the final eight in 3-under.


Green, a rising senior at Christ Presbyterian Academy, won the TSSAA Division II-A individual state title back in the fall.


Only one other player broke par on the 6,900-yard layout Tuesday.  Ethan Ray of Collierville carded a 2-under, 69.


Recent Maryville High School graduate and future Wofford College golfer Matt Copeland is fourth at even par.


There is a group of five golfers tied for fifth at 1-over, 72.  They include: Braedon Wear (Maryville), Jacob Uehlein (Tullahoma), Trenton Johnson (Brentwood), Russell Williamson (Memphis) and Wyatt Samuels (Clarksville).


Find the complete leaderboard here:https://www.golfgenius.com/pages/1329948


For updates throughout the tournament, follow the TGA on Twitter at: www.twitter.com/tngolf





Copyright 2011-2014 Tennessee Golf Association, All rights reserved.