Contact Us Director Login

About the TGA TGA Competitions USGA Qualifiers Membership Handicapping Rules of Golf Volunteers Book A Tee Time
SunTrust Tennessee State Open
State Amateur
Match Play
Junior Amateur
Parent-Child Senior & Super Sr Amateur Senior & Super Sr Four-BallSr Match PlayCup Matches  Player of the Year
Women's Amateur
Girls' Junior
Women's Open
Women's Four-Ball
Women's Senior/Mid-Am
Nashville Pro-Am

For more information contact:

Connie Pearce, Curator – 615-465-6330

Scott, Pearce Among Four Inducted Into Tennessee Golf Hall of Fame

For Immediate Release: FRANKLIN, Tenn. — Maggie Scott, a winner of 10 Tennessee Golf Association tournaments and 12 times the TGA Senior Player of the Year, and historian Gene Pearce head the 2015 Tennessee Golf Hall of Fame Class.

Entering the Hall along with Scott and Pearce are two people without whom the TGA as it currently exists might not have been possible.

Horace F. Smith, who served in the Civil War as a drummer boy and later became the president of Nashville Golf and Country Club, the Western Golf Association and the Southern Golf Association is credited with creating the first Tennessee amateur golf tournament, which in turn led to the formation of the TGA in 2014.

Likewise, Edyth Duffield is credited with being the driving force behind the Women’s Tennessee Golf Association, an organization that later joined forces with the TGA. An accomplished player, Duffield also won the Women’s Tennessee Amateur.

The 2015 inductees run the gamut of accomplishments. Scott, of Charleston, Tenn., won her first state tournament, the Women’s Amateur, in 1994. After reaching senior status, she dominated the TGA Senior Women’s Amateur, winning from 2001-03, 2005-08, 2010 and 2012. Scott earned state Senior Player of the Year honors in 1999, 2001-08, 2010 and 2012.

Pearce, who began his professional career as a sports writer for the Jackson Sunand Tennessean, waited until retirement to put all his energy into documenting his home state’s golf history. His first project was the definitive The History of Tennessee Golf 1894-2001, 494 pages and 368,334 words in all. Pearce was credited with uncovering numerous events, tournament winners and colorful characters that otherwise may have been lost to history, among them his fellow Hall of Fame honorees Duffield and Smith.

Since publishing The History of Tennessee Golf 1894-2001 Pearce has written several other books, including the history of the Southern Golf Association and the history of famed Colonial Country Club in Memphis. His work editing the annual Tennessee Golf Almanac has been invaluable in helping document the year in golf, shining a spotlight on a former state champion, and filling in the blanks with missing state championship results.

The 2015 induction dates, locations and details will be announced at a later date.

About the Tennessee Golf Hall of Fame

The Tennessee Golf Hall of Fame was founded in 1990 by the Tennessee Golf Foundation. Charter members of the Tennessee Golf Hall of Fame include Dr. Cary Middlecoff, Lou Graham, Betty Probasco, Mason Rudolph, Lew Oehmig and Dudley “Waxo” Green. Since 1990, a total of 38 individuals have been elected to the hall. The Tennessee Golf Hall of Fame is located at Golf House Tennessee in Franklin, which also serves as the home office for the Tennessee Golf Foundation, Tennessee Golf Association, Tennessee Section PGA, Volunteer Chapter of Club Managers’ Association and Tennessee Turfgrass Association.





2018 Championship Schedule Allied Associations Job Opportunities Directions Privacy Policy

Copyright 2017 Tennessee Golf Association, All rights reserved.